Lalibela’s Wise Man By: Matshona Dhliwayo

NefretitiM: Today on Literary Links we have Matshona Dhilwayo; author of Lalibela’s Wise Man. Thank you for joining us today. What inspired you to write this book?

Matshona Dhliwayo: Each time life perplexed me, I would take a trip to the rural areas and sit before my grandfather, the first sage I ever met, and take in all of the nuggets of wisdom he imparted to me.

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Matshona Dhliwayo: Lalibela is the oldest monastery in Africa, to the best of my knowledge, where monks still reside. I always saw it as a place where my grandfather should have lived. He was a very peaceful man; one of the most spiritual people I’ve ever met. I put the two together and came up with the title: Lalibela’s Wiseman.

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Matshona Dhliwayo: Self-help/Inspirational. Some have compared it to The Alchemist.

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Matshona Dhliwayo: I was programmed before I came into this world to be a writer. Then, seeing how words had the power to influence people, I committed myself to honing my craft. 

NefretitiM: So, I’ve heard through the grape vine that you donate some on the proceeds from your book to charity.  Can you speak more on this?

Matshona Dhliwayo: 50% of all of the profits from my book sales will go to orphanages in Zimbabwe. It is my way of thanking the Creator for the gifts and talents he has given me.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Matshona Dhliwayo: Watching documentaries. Listening to lectures.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Matshona Dhliwayo: Learn your craft. Learn from the best. Be true to yourself. Write from the heart. Edit from the head. Persevere, persevere, persevere!

NefretitiM: Well said. Thank you for joining us today, it has truly been a pleasure. Get your copy of Lalibela’s Wise Man today @ http://a.co/84zNntO

wise

Leave a Reply

