The Adventures of Uni the Fish: The Fish and the Flower By: Fernanda Dorsey

NefretitiM: Today on Literary Links we have Fernanda Dorsey author of  The Adventures of Uni the Fish: The Fish and the Flower.  What inspired you to write this book?

Fernanda: I created the fish character as a kid because it was so easy to draw and I could create stories of my family using characters. I was the fish, my sister was a duck etc. As an adult I wanted to learn how to self publish and since I am a much better artist than a writer the idea of a children book was good.

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Fernanda: One day my husband told me a story that he heard on NPR (Radio Station) about an island that was about to disappear due to global warming and the raise of the ocean levels. I was just starting to come up with ideas for a fish story so the idea of getting a fish so it clicked.

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Fernanda: Children Stories

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Fernanda: I don’t know. Sometimes I get this drive to create them.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Fernanda: I just let words and ideas flow as if they came from somewhere else. I don’t force them. If they are not there I don’t do any work.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Fernanda: I like travel and tennis (both with my husband) and I like building businesses, online or phone apps

NefretitiM: Nice! Well thank you for joining us today. Much success to you!  Get your copy of The Adventures of Uni the Fish: The Fish and the Flower today @

https://amzn.com/B0173R01YC

uni

Advertisements

The Tao of Sudoku Yoga for the Brain By: Cristina Smith & Rick Smith

Nefretitim: Tonight on Literary Links we have Cristina Smith author of The Tao of Sudoku Yoga for the Brain.  Thank you for joining us tonight on Literary Links.  What inspired the creation of this book?

Cristina Smith: I made the choice to do something I would never have imagined before- number puzzles. I approached learning to play as a way to train my mind and as part of my spiritual path. The results were remarkable. It’s amazing how sometimes the most unexpected things can trigger the deepest revelations.

Nefretitim: How did you come up with the title?

Cristina Smith: It emerged in a creative conversation with my brother Rick, who is The Tao of Sudoku’s puzzle master and book designer. The title captures the unexpected yet exquisite blending of seemingly unrelated topics in the tradition of The Tao of Pooh and Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.

Nefretitim: What genre does this book to fit into?

Cristina Smith: It is genre fluid. Both a profound philosophy and fun puzzle book, The Tao of Sudoku is yoga for the brain that stretches your mind, nourishes your soul and touches your heart.

Nefretitim: What influenced your interest in writing?

Cristina Smith: Growing up I spent countless hours at the library and reading. The abundance of authors who expressed their varied visions, stories, and perspectives somehow gave me permission to write. I wrote poetry, articles and had pen pals even as a young teen. I still have pen pals, but as of the early 2000s, they have been social media friends around the world.

One of those moments that sticks with you the rest your life happened when I was about 15.  My aunt said that she saw me writing the great American novel sometime. As I said to my cousin a couple of weeks ago, “This book is truly a novel, but in a completely different context!”

Nefretitim: What is the writing process like for you?

Cristina Smith: Since first publishing at age 17, I have worked as a marketing copywriter, co-creative ghostwriter, and editor in addition to my personal projects. Some days when I write, I am working, learning and offering my gifts to others. Other days, I am dancing with my muse in the depths of my soul, following the ephemeral trails of inspiration where they lead.

That said, writing is a process of steering and flowing for me. The parameters of the task at hand like deadlines, topics and word counts steer the direction. The quiet time away from the task, like taking a walk or having a cup of tea is the flow. Sometimes the solution to a task just pops in to my head while taking a shower or on a walk. My creative process embraces both aspects which increases my joy and happiness factor exponentially.

Nefretitim: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Cristina Smith: I spend my time at my homes in the forest or on the ocean and love to travel. My friends have graced me with the title ‘Prime Community Builder’ for which I am very grateful.  I love being a part of an international alliance of beautiful souls committed to making the planet a better place through their work and their lives. I enjoy adventures in the inner worlds of meditation and silence. And I love to celebrate life with my friends and family.

Nefretitim: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Cristina Smith: Here are my top 10:

10. Nourish your curiosity.
9. Fuel your love of learning.
8 Acknowledge your own accomplishments.
7. Offer your gifts.
6. Write about what brings you joy.
5. Give yourself credit for your successes.
4. Remember you have a body.
3. Have fun! It will sustain you as much as work.
2. Know yourself better every day.
1. Express yourself and allow your true voice to emerge. It will evolve over time and the more you let it be heard, the better you will be able to listen to it.

Nefretitim: Great advice! Thank you for the interview.  Get your copy of The Tao of Sudoku Yoga for the Brain today @ https://amzn.com/1536916358.

tos_banner

Randi Glazer’s Pearls of Wisdom for the Business Professional

NefretitiM: Thank you for joining you us to talk about your book; Randi Glazer’s Pearls of Wisdom for the Business Professional, what inspired you to write this book?

Randi Glazer: Many people have told me I should write a book based on all the sayings I have spoken over the years; so I did.

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Randi Glazer: A grade school teacher always referred to the important things she said as ‘pearls’.  That always stuck with me.  I thought “Pearls of Wisdom” would be a great way to pay homage to that teacher.

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Randi Glazer: Self-help, business, philosophy

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Randi Glazer: After having written my first book about “12 Strategies of Surviving in the Business World” I still had some things I wanted to write about and set out to do another book.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Randi Glazer: For me, I write from the heart.  I feel passionately about what I do and it is easy to write what you feel passion for.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Randi Glazer: I like to read, exercise and spend time with my family.  I am an avid traveler.  I recently returned from an Alaskan cruise and will be in Hawaii for a family vacation later this year.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Randi Glazer: I believe everyone has at least one book in them; something that they feel passionately about.  Don’t die without sharing that passion.  Don’t worry if others will like it or if it will sell books.  Write because you feel passion to do so.  Once you start the words will just flow.

NefretitiM: Thank you for joining us on Literary Links. Much success on your book.  Get your copy of Randi Glazer’s Pearls of Wisdom for the Business Professional @ https://www.amazon.com/Glazers-Pearls-Wisdom-Business-Professional/dp/1539183025/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

pearlsofwisdom

 

 

Randi Glazer’s 12 Strategies For Surviving A Career In The Business World

NefretitiM: Today on Literary Links we have Randi Glazer author of; Randi Glazer’s 12 Strategies For Surviving A Career In The Business World. Thank you for joining us tonight.  What inspired you to write this book?

Randi Glazer: I have been in the business world for over 2 decades and saw the need for more mentor-ship for the folks coming into the work force.

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Randi Glazer: It was the number of strategies I came up with.  I guess It would have been a different title had I had more or less strategies to speak about.

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Randi Glazer: Non-fiction; business.

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Randi Glazer:The fact that there are very few books with insight as to how to be successful when starting out in your career.  What I write about is fundamental yet there are few books that speak to this.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Randi Glazer: For me, I write from the heart.  I feel passionately about what I do and it is easy to write what you feel passion for.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Randi Glazer: I like to read, exercise and spend time with my family.  I am an avid traveler.  I recently returned from an Alaskan cruise and will be in Hawaii for a family vacation later this year.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Randi Glazer: I believe everyone has at least one book in them; something that they feel passionately about.  Don’t die without sharing that passion.  Don’t worry if others will like it or if it will sell books.  Write because you feel passion to do so.  Once you start the words will just flow.

NefretitiM: That’s great advice. Thank you for the interview, and much success to you on your book.  Get your copy of Randi Glazer’s 12 Strategies For Surviving A Career In The Business World today at https://www.amazon.com/Glazers-Strategies-Surviving-Career-Business/dp/1539182827/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1476641930&sr=1-1&keywords=randi+glazer

front_cover__12_strategies