How The Bunny Learned To Fly By: Sean David Maday

NefretitiM: Today on literary links we have Sean David Maday author of How The Bunny Learned To Fly.  Thank You for joining us.  What inspired you to write this book?

Sean David Maday: I have two young daughters (and another due any day now). Each evening my wife and I read children’s books to the girls before their bedtime. It has been fun for me to observe the types of stories, styles, and illustrations that capture their imagination. My goal was to create a poetic picture book using expressive vocabulary and rhyming couplets to tell an amusing tale about two unlikely animal friends who find compassion and empathy when they each spend time experiencing the other’s perspective

NefretitiM:  Wow that sounds great. How did you come up with the title?

Sean David Maday: In a literal sense, the title reflects the arc of the story; it is a tale about a bunny who learns to fly. In a broader sense, the story and the title are allegories for how we all must work together to achieve our dreams! From this aspect “flying” is really about growth and accomplishment.

NefretitiM:  Nice. What genre does this book fit into?

Sean David Maday: Unless a small animal researcher somewhere eventually discovers a breed of rabbit that can actually fly, this picture book will be classified as a work of fiction. Beyond that label though, I hope that readers will see this as an interactive learning book. I didn’t want the reader’s adventure to stop on the last page of this story. There is a fun song to accompany the tale (soon to be released on YouTube), and over the next few weeks we will be sharing many related coloring book pages and word puzzles on the Paisley Books website.

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Sean David Maday: I have always enjoyed writing and creating narratives. As I crafted this story, I tried to make the concept fun for preschoolers and grade­schoolers, but I intentionally chose expressive vocabulary. I like using obscure words and esoteric idioms with my young daughters. It generally peaks their curiosity and drives them to ask for clarification and definition. It is a fun way for us to engage together and explore language.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Sean David Maday: For me, the writing process is very interactive. I get a rough idea and some fragmented word combinations scribbled onto a piece of paper, and then I repeatedly go back over them, making adjustments and optimizing the prose. The key for me is  getting started, and intertwining periodic improvements into the flow of everyday life.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Sean David Maday: When I am not writing, I am working in the technology sector, serving as an Air Force Reservist and focusing on my responsibilities as a husband, father and dog owner. Lately, my daughters and I spend a lot of time biking around the neighborhood and exploring local playgrounds.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Sean David Maday: Get started! There has never been a better time to write and self­publish a book. Today an entrepreneurial author is only limited by their imagination. You can use the power of the Internet to instantly collaborate with illustrators, proofreaders,editors and mentors all over the world. In the process of writing and publishing How the Bunny Learned to Fly, I collaborated with professionals in over 15 different countries through platforms like Fiverr and Upwork.

NefretitiM: That’s some good advice.  Much success to you Mr. Maday, and thank you for stopping by literary links and much success on your book.

Get Your copy of How The Bunny Learned To Flyhttps://www.amazon.com/Bunny-Learned-Sean-David-Maday/dp/0692752269/

HowTheBunnyLearnedToFlyCover

Leave a Reply

