God, Make Me Uncomfortable By: Auri Jones

NefretitiM: Today on Literary Links we have Auri Jones author of God, Make Me Uncomfortable.   Tell us Auri, what inspired you to write this book?

Auri Jones: The idea for the book came when I was sitting in a coffee shop with my friend, Hannah, and our pastor, Paul. It was the summer of 2008, and both Hannah and I were going through some crazy life changes. Our church was going through this series called “One Prayer”. In the corner of this coffee shop, Paul asks us if there was one prayer we felt like God wanted us to pray for ourselves, what would it be? Without thinking, we both said ‘God, Make Me Uncomfortable’. Paul laughed and shook his head. He told us that we would be crazy to pray that because God would answer it. It got me thinking about the actual repercussions of praying that. What would it look like? That fall, I began a job traveling the U.S. with a production company, and I started writing this book. I also started talking with people I met along the road and learned their stories about God, prayer, and life. All of it began to flow into this book.


NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?


Auri Jones: I decided that this book wasn’t really about how to pray. It was really a challenge and prayer in itself. I wanted the title to be the actual prayer.

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Auri Jones: A friend described this as a modern day parable. Since that isn’t a genre, I saw this fitting into Fiction and Spiritual Growth in a religious sense.

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Auri Jones: My mom was a huge inspiration. One summer, when I was a kid, my mom got tired of me saying that I was bored and needed something to do. She sat me down and told me this amazing story for about an hour. I was engrossed and on the edge of my seat. When she finished, she told me that she made up the entire story on the spot. She then challenged me to go and try it. I’ve been creating stories and characters ever since.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Auri Jones: I write based off of what I observe in life. I pay attention to people, places, events, and situations and usually they find themselves in my stories. Characters are what intrigue me the most. When you read my work, you will see that I pay a lot of attention to my characters and who they are. So, I begin with a character. I study them until I know them. Then I walk with them through the entire story and invite the reader to as well.

I wish I could say that I get to write every day, but I don’t. However, I’m always thinking about and gaining information on what I want to pen.
Once I finish, then I read and re-read, talk about the story with people, gain other’s thoughts, and even give them a taste of what is being written.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Auri Jones: I love being active. I’m a huge outdoors fan. Sports, hiking, the beach—you name it. I am also a recording artist. So, if you don’t see my writing a story, I’m writing lyrics or recording a song or performing live somewhere.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Auri Jones: Write and create and enjoy doing it. I don’t know how many people will read my books, but I don’t write for them. I write for myself and invite others to enjoy the book as well. If you’ve been given the drive or gift to create a world or guide people through this one with your writing, then use it. Trust me; it’s going to be worth it.

NefretitiM: Well said Auri.  Thank you for joining us today on Literary Links.  Get You copy of God, Make Me Uncomfortablehttps://www.amazon.com/God-Make-Me-Uncomfortable-Abandoned/dp/1514280744 

afee68_3efeb70aae204c7aa30a2fb5f2a69c7f

Leave a Reply

