The Transient, The Emperor, And The Man Left Alone By: Jacob Harrell

NefretitiM: Today on Literary Links we have Jacob Harrell Author of The Transient, The Emperor, And The Man Left Alone.   Thank you for joining us. What inspired you to write this book?

Jacob Harrell: I drew inspiration from the greatest muse there is – Boredom. I spend a lot of time traveling, either by plane, automobile, or by placing one foot in front of the other (the best form of transportation), and during these long journeys, my mind has a tendency to wander into world that I never knew existed. And so, I decided to take those abstract thoughts and put them to paper. It had always been a dream of mine to publish something anyways.

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Jacob Harrell: The title is spurned from key events that occur within the story, in which, the main protagonist, Derren Washington, travels from phase of his life to another, whereby he becomes, all at once, a transient, an emperor, and a man left alone.

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Jacob Harrell: Above anything else, this is a work of fiction, but I may, rather loosely mind you, classify it as a science fiction/ fantasy/ adventure/ humorist piece.

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Jacob Harrell: I had always been interested in crafting stories ever since I was a young lad. I would go to the library two, sometimes three, times a week and pull myself from reality just long enough to lose myself in wonderfully crafted tales. I still remember the first time I read The Call of the Wild, or how it felt when I read 100 Years of Solitude, or how utterly immersed within The Cat’s Cradle I was. It didn’t take long before I began to write my own stories, but, much like Kilgore Trout, those stories were often thrown into the trash or placed in forgotten chests, never to see the light of day. It wasn’t until after reading Catch – 22 that I finally decided to take my writing more seriously and make it a public affair.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Jacob Harrell: I would describe my writing process as being very scattered almost like a frantic squirrel that forgets where it has hidden its nuts. I don’t sit down to just write and write in a coherent line. Instead, I put ideas on paper as they come to me, and then rearrange them to form a rough skeleton. Later, I’ll go back and flesh out the differing areas within the story as my muse sees fit. Typically, ideas come while in transit, usually on extended hikes through the woods, or drawn out car rides. Rarely am I able to just sit force ideas to come to fruition. I prefer ideas to come to me naturally and seamlessly, effortlessly. For this reason, I always carry a pen and paper on my person. One never knows when an idea will present itself.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Jacob Harrell: When not writing, I am unfortunately relegated to working, but when I’m not doing that, I am doing anything and everything I can to occupy my time – hiking, backpacking, fishing, pyrography, climbing, loving life and all of its intricacies.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Jacob Harrell: Have fun with your writing. Don’t make it a chore. Ideas come to us in so many ways, don’t force them. Find your muse and feed her whenever you get a chance. Disconnect from the distractions that keep you from your work. My is filled with them (television, music, instruments, video games), so when I want to truly write, I do so in a comfortable place away from my home where I can better hear the melody of my thoughts. Another major hindrance for me was a worry about what other individuals might say about what I write, that nobody would appreciate my work, but when I started thinking about the burgeoning human population that is nearly at 8 billion, and how easy it was, within my own life, to find other like-minded individuals, I stopped worrying about that. Surely, out of nearly 8 billion people, I can find at least one or two people that find enjoyment in my writing, and that is enough for me.

NefretitiM:  Good advice ! Thank You for joining us today.  Get your copy of The Transient, The Emperor, And The Man Left Alone @

Amazon –  https://amzn.com/B01FMN6AR6

Barnes & Noble – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-transient-the-emperor-and-the-man-left-alone-jacob-harrell/1123788315?ean=9781480828995

Archway – http://bookstore.archwaypublishing.com/Products/SKU-001039176/The-Transient-the-Emperor-and-the-Man-Left-Alone.aspx

CovePhotoAmazon

Leave a Reply

