Done Rubbed Out Reightman & Bailey Book One By: Jeffery Craig

NefretitiM: Today on Literary Links we have Jeffery Craig author  of Done Rubbed Out Reightman & Bailey Book One.   What inspired you to write this book?

Jeffery Craig: I have had the basic idea for the book for quite some time and had been keeping a collection of notes. After a late night discussion with a group of friends, I decided to start putting words down on paper, and never looked back. I was worried about not being able to find enough words, but 750 pages later my simple little mystery thriller had turned into the first two books of the Reightman & Bailey series. There was a lot happing in my part of the world related to the fight for equality and it fit nicely into the book. It was just meant to be!

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Jeffery Craig: I wanted something that was a little bit of a double entendre, and that had somewhat of a film noir filling to it. I came up with the title during the second or third edit, based on something one of the characters says in the book. It was a perfect fit.

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Jeffery Craig: ll the books in the series are Mystery/thrillers featuring a gay protagonist and a cranky, menopausal detective.

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Jeffery Craig: I have done quite a bit of professional writing, but had never really made the time for writing fiction. I am a big reader and have been from a very early age. I remember my mom reading to me when I was very young. Great stories intrigued me, and I figured it was time to try telling my own stories, filled with my own messages.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Jeffery Craig: Process? There’s supposed to be a process???? No one told me that! Seriously, I try to write every day. I use a general outline plot out the crime, and then develop the characters and the storyline within that framework. I tend to let the characters have a lot of say regarding where they want to go. Sometimes I have to reel them back in and get everyone on track, but this seems to work pretty well for me. Then I do a couple of rounds of self-editing, send it to my great group of beta readers, make adjustments and then hand off to my professional editor.

NefretitiM: Ha ha.. you’re funny.  So what do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Jeffery Craig: I am a co-owner of a local art gallery/gift store that provides a venue for area artists to showcase and sell their works. I also paint myself, and we have a pretty large garden in the historic downtown neighborhood where we live. All of that keeps me pretty busy.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Jeffery Craig: Keep writing and telling your stories. Practice makes perfect and as your craft grows so will your readers. Learn to take constructive criticism well and think about it before reacting. More often than not, it will inform your work in a positive way. And finally, spend the money for an editor. If you can’t spend it on anything else, spend it there. If you have a few buck left over, get a good designer to do your cover.

NefretitiM: Well said.  I really enjoyed our interview today.  Much success to you Mr. Craig. Go get your copy of Done Rubbed Out Today…

DRO_Coverlowrez

https://www.amazon.com/Done-Rubbed-Out-Reightman-Bailey-ebook/dp/B01E0LMB4C

Leave a Reply

