Phoenixes Groomed As Genesis Doves By: Jasmine Farrell

NefretitiM: What inspired you to write this book?

Jasmine Farrell: What inspired me to write Phoenixes Groomed as Genesis Doves (PGAGD) was my road to self discovery. I realized that my journey is quite common for those who have left one community in order to live their best life.

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Jasmine Farrell: The title kinda just snuck up on me.

Jasmine Farrell: I left Christianity, church ways and mannerisms that were eating away at my core. I was groomed to be a genesis dove. I was supposed to fit in this cute box and I couldn’t question much without feeling as though I was arrogant. However, I was, I am a phoenix. I’ve got vibrant colors, I rise from my own ashes and I flaw-fully soar towards my dreams. Hence: Phoenixes Groomed as Genesis Doves.

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Jasmine Farrell: PGAGD fits into poetry.

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Jasmine Farrell: I don’t know what influenced my interest in writing. From what my mother has told me, I used to scribble my baby jargon in my late grandmother’s memo pad and then tried to read my story aloud to my mother. I’ve been writing ever since. However, my passion for poetry grew while I was in high school.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Jasmine Farrell: My writing process always involves a “word vomit”. A word vomit is pretty much free writing but there is no set time. You keep writing until you have nothing left to say at that moment. When I complete my word vomit, I go back to it a day or two later and clean it up. I am inspired by many things, life being a big one. But, I always free write first.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Jasmine Farrell: I love to dance barefoot. I like to walk around Central Park during the autumn season and confiscate the big leaves that have fallen on the pathway. I like to connect with people and learn about new cultures.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Jasmine Farrell: Do not impersonate someone else’s voice. Your voice, your words and perspective is worthy enough to be read. Be open to learn and never get comfortable with your current level of writing. Appreciate your writing, but always be receptive to growth!

What inspired you to write this book?

NefretitiM: Thank you for joining us tonight Jasmine.  Pick up your copy of Phoenixes Groomed As Genesis Doves TODAY!

Phoenixes_Groomed_as_Genesis_Doves_Cover

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Phoenixes-Groomed-as-Genesis-Doves/dp/0692678662/

Createspace: https://www.createspace.com/6129534



 

Leave a Reply

