NefretitiM: Today on Literary Links we have Jessica Edler author of Dinosaur Hiccups.  Thank you for joining us Jessica.  What inspired you to write this book?

Jessica Edler: My son and a case of really bad hiccups when he was younger. I made up a story about it one night putting him to bed and thought-that would be a cute book. So here it is!

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Jessica Edler: My character was a Dinosaur and he had Hiccups-there simply couldn’t have been any other title for it.

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Jessica Edler: Children’s and children humor are what it is labeled as on amazon

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Jessica Edler: My poetry teacher in high school, Mrs. Harrod influenced me a great deal in writing in general, emotions played a big part of everything I have ever written and I never thought my first book would have been a children’s book!

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Jessica Edler: The ‘process’ is more like a thought and go type of thing for me. I write when i a inspired and if i try to force it-you feel the difference when reading the words. I have started outlining ahead of time to make it easier to follow for myself since my mind is constantly changing direction and wanting to go in five hundred different directions!

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Jessica Edler: I am first and foremost a mother, secondly I am a photographer so I spend a lot of time photographing people and sitting at the computer editing or marketing and alot of time reading and writing. I have tons of ideas-getting them all out in an organized manner is the difficult part! 

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Jessica Edler: FINISH! It is seemingly easy to start your books/ideas, finishing them is the challenge. Also, outlining helps seriously. if you plan out the events in advance and know your end point in advance, its like connecting the dots.

NefretitiM: Pretty good advice.  Thank you for joining us today Jessica.  Get your copy of Dinosaur Hiccups @ https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01FR692EG and if you have kindle unlimited, download yours for FREE!

Physical copies will be available soon too.

Leave a Reply

