Good Enough By: Vonna Ivory Joseph

NefretitiM: Today on Literary Links we have Vonna Ivory Joseph author of Good Enough. Thank You for joining us today.  So Ms. Joseph what inspired you to write Good Enough?

Vonna Ivory Joseph: There are these rare gems on Earth who love beyond their capacities.  They go about life making it happen.  Taking care of things and people.  There are still women out there without overinflated senses of their own worth.  There are still women out there who you aren’t going to see selfies of or their OOTD, because they’re just going about their days, head down and focused on a greater good.  They don’t know how great they are.  They don’t expect or seek accolades and praise via Likes and Re-Posts, as a matter of fact they are absolutely unaware of how truly spectacular they are.  They’re taking care of their families, working full-time, validating the people around them and serving their communities – loving as we are all commanded to do.  But, desite all of their greatness, they feel inadequate.  They feel invisible.  They don’t think the sweet life is for people like them.  The images of the women on “Reality” TV and on Instagram are far prettier than they are.  Those women have far more glamourous careers and friends and lives – those are the types of women who get the guy.  They feel that they can’t compete, so they take themselves out of the game.  This is my TARGET AUDIENCE.  We are my TARGET AUDIENCE.  I wrote a book to let her know that, love is for everybody.

NefretitiM: Wow. Love, love, love the concept! How did you come up with the title?

 Vonna Ivory Joseph: I didn’t. My sister did after reading the first draft of my manuscript. I was just calling it, Untitled, But At Least I Started.

NefretitiM: What genre does Good Enough  fit into?

 Vonna Ivory Joseph: Contemporary Women’s Lit – I think.

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

 Vonna Ivory Joseph: All things Toni Morrison

NefretitiM: I know what you mean. Girl, I’m a big Toni Morrison fan myself. What is the writing process like for you?

 Vonna Ivory Joseph: Wine, laughter, and my dining room table. And I do these fun little “table reads” to go over dialogue.  My friends bring finger foods and wine, we sit around my dining room table and they read parts of the book to me. It’s always a blast and very helpful to me.

NefretitiM: Nice! What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

 Vonna Ivory Joseph: I’m a party girl at heart, so I spend a lot of my “free” time with friends and family, entertaining. I’m pretty slammed as a full time working wife and mother of competitive athletes. Yes, I’m that Travel Baseball, Football and Track mom.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Vonna Ivory Joseph: You have a story. Write it down. You don’t have to be a “writer” per se, just a storyteller. Editors and people like that will fix you right up! Just write. Right now.

NefretitiM: Well Thank You for joining us today Vonna…I certainly can’t wait to get my copy.    Check out Vonna’s website @ http://www.vonnajoseph.com/#!blog/c112v .

Click the link below to get your copy today.

gooden

 

Leave a Reply

