It Started at Sunset Cottage By: Bella Osborne

Today on Literary Links we have Bella Osborne author of It Started at Sunset Cottage.

NefretitiM: What inspired you to write It Started at Sunset Cottage?

Bella Osborne: I wanted to write the sort of book that I would like to read when I’m sat on the beach on holiday. I also loved the thought of what would happen if a superstar actor fell for the ordinary girl next door.

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Bella Osborne: It was a joint effort with my editor and it took an awful lot of emails to get to a final title that we were both happy with!

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Bella Osborne: It’s a romance but it also has a lot of comedy, some poignant moments and an underlying threat so it doesn’t fit that neatly into a genre pigeonhole I’m afraid!

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Bella Osborne: I’ve always loved to write stories ever since I was at school. I was a keen reader and got swept away by the Secret Seven books by Enid Blyton and anything that involved animals. I spent a lot of time with my head in a book so it felt normal for me to want to write my own.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Bella Osborne: I have an initial character or idea and I let that grow in my mind. I jot down key pieces of information or scenes as they pop into my head. I then sketch out my characters in more detail and ask lots of ‘what if?’ questions. I map out my plot onto sticky notes (I love those things!) so I can clearly see if there are any gaps. Once I’m confident I know my story and characters I sit down and write a first draft. Then I edit it.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Bella Osborne: I like to spend time with my husband and daughter. I also enjoy planning holidays, running and reading.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Bella Osborne: Keep writing, no matter what life throws at you and never, ever give up!

Thank You for joining us today, it has truly been a pleasure. Get your copy of It Started at Sunset Cottage @ http://www.amazon.com/Started-at-Sunset-Cottage-ebook/dp/B00PFBTMIK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1462369797&sr=8-1&keywords=bella+osborne

Leave a Reply

