Monsterous Beauty By: Carol Keen

Today on literary links we have Carol E. Keen Author of Monstrous Beauty.

NefretitiM: What inspired you to write Monstrous Beauty?

Carol E. Keen: My first published fiction book is the first book in this series. It is a retelling of Cinderella, and it is called Beauty For Ashes. So many people told me how much they liked that book, and begged for a series, that I instantly knew I wanted to do this book for the second book in The Beauty Series.

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Carol E. Keen Since this book is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast in another way, I started thinking about how the Beast was always seen as a monster. Thus, Monstrous Beauty was the title that came to me.

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Carol E. Keen: Christian Romance, Fairy Tale

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Carol E. Keen: I started making up stories and telling them non-stop at the age of two. I have always been writing something or making up a story for myself. For many years I did a great deal of journaling, but by the time I was in collage I started thinking about writing books and getting them published. I’m an avid reader, and other authors inspire me to create. Sometimes a movie or a TV series will spark an idea for a book as well.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Carol E. Keen: While I’m working, my mind is always going. I come up with ideas. If I feel it is a good one, I jot it down. Then I just need to finish forming it into a pretty solid story in my mind. After that, I sit and type it all out, and then comes editing.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Carol E. Keen: I’m found reading quite a lot! I love being with my family and talking to my friends, photography, working with book covers in Photoshop or Lightroom, snuggling my pets, doing any other creative project I feel like working on, or a watching TV series or movies.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Carol E. Keen: If writing burns in you, if stories are bubbling up all the time and begging to be written, make it happen. Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do it, that you’re not good enough, or serious enough, or any other judgement thing that hurts you. Do not give up! We all have room for improvement but giving up on a dream that is part of you is a very bad idea.

Write, write and write some more. If it is bad, you can edit it later. The more you write, the more confident you will become and the better your work will be. While you are at it, have fun with what your writing!

NefretitiM: I like. Excellent advice.  Thank You for joining us Carol, and much success to you.  Get your coy of Monstrous Beauty @ http://www.amazon.com/Carol-E.-Keen/e/B011N0L4NM

MonsterousBeauty

Leave a Reply

