The Punch Escrow By:Tal M Klein

Tonight on Literary Links we have Tal M Klein author of The Punch Escrow

NefretitiM: What inspired you to write The Punch Escrow?

Tal M Klein: My inspiration for The Punch Escrow is directly correlated to the scientific theory behind teleportation. Somehow Star Trek came up in conversation five years ago. It was explained to me that teleportation was actually a technology best suited for replication, not transportation.

“So you’re saying every single time Scotty beamed up Captain Kirk, he killed him?” I asked.

“I’m afraid so.” Came the reply.

“That murderous Scotsman!” I shouted.

Thus the premise and inspiration for The Punch Escrow was conceived: A 25th century desultory scientific, philosophical, religious, legislative, bureaucratic, existential Rube Goldberg Machine catalyzed by an unfortunate calamitous teleportation mishap.

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Tal M Klein: Without giving too much away, the Punch Escrow is a mechanism I invented which makes teleportation safe.

NefretitiM: So what genre does The Punch Escrow fit into?

Tal M Klein: The genre is hard science fiction. The difference between hard science fiction and, say, soft science fiction is that the first is rooted in plausible science. The things that take place in The Punch Escrow are plausible, but really, really hard, which is why the book is set 400 years in the future.

NefretitiM: What influences your interest in writing?

Tal M Klein: I’ve always been interested in writing. Putting pen to paper or fingers to keys has always felt natural to me. Most recently, my five year old daughter published a children’s book. After she did that, she asked me, “Daddy, when are you going to publish your book?” – So I would say that catalyzed my interest in publishing.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Tal M Klein: I always start with a mind map, I use a process called Wardley Mapping to align the things I want to do with the plausibility of their outcome, and then I create an outline. Once I have the outline, I let myself create freely within those boundaries.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Tal M Klein: I love spending time with my family, I have a great job at a very cool company, and when I can, I also compose and produce music.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Tal M Klein: Nothing they won’t have heard before, but the truth is: Write every single day. It doesn’t matter if you write 10 words or 10,000, just keep writing.

NefretitiM: Good advice.  Thank You for joining us tonight.

Pick up your copy of The Punch Escrow @ www.thepunchescrow.com

Leave a Reply

