Extraordinary Courage: My Life on the Columbus College Campus (1963-1965) By: Dr. John W. Townsend Jr.

Tonight on Literary Links we have Dr. John W Townsend Jr. author of Extraordinary Courage: My Life on the Columbus College Campus (1963-1965).

NefretitiM: What inspired you to write this book ?

Dr. John W. Townsend Jr.: I was inspired to write this book. my wife, and our entire nuclear and extended family members, who kept the flame burning when my candle light became dim, gave me needed support and encouragement at appropriate times. The renowned author of the book called ROOTS and other significant work, Alex Haley, who was guest speaker at Columbus College in 1984, dialogued with me and dispensed the following advice; John, to become an effective , a serious and a prolific writer, be careful to select topics or subjects that will sustain your interest long enough for you to complete the work. Put all of your talents and efforts into one major project; finish it and then move on to the next prioritize goal (Haley,1984) also due to reporters, my old colleague and professors, also because I realize that I was part of the change in black history.

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Dr. John W. Townsend Jr.: Well the title was through my experience in college. It took a lot of courage for me to attend CSU not along Graduate without thinking once about quitting and giving up due to desegregation that was going. on.

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Dr. John W. Townsend Jr.: Black histories, Auto biography, education

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Dr. John W. Townsend Jr.: Former student of mines have certainly made me continue writing, Over the years, motivated me to write about my life experiences. Thank to them and others stimulating individuals, this book will represent the start of what is hoped to be prolific writing career.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Dr. John W. Townsend Jr.: Spend time with family and help students get prepared for SAT, ACT or project. I Am a retired professor. I am always doing other thing within my spare time.

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Dr. John W. Townsend Jr.: A Quote From my book: A bomber bee has no business flying. It’s too fat, too heavy, and its wings have to work extra hard to take off- to remain in flight.
The bomber bee flies and soars against tremendous odds. So can you.
Keep thinking that you can do it as you pursue the next upward step.
Remember that Life is a process, and one cannot easily skip any rung on “Life’s Ladder”.

Thank You for joining us tonight Dr. Townsend. Get your copy of the Extraordinary Courage: My Life on the Columbus College Campus (1963-1965) @ http://extracourage.simplesite.com/426773198/category/699728/online-store, https://lovemybodywell.com/products/extra-ordinary-courage or http://extracourage.simplesite.com/

Leave a Reply

