The Young Vampire’s Survival Guide

Tonight on Literary Links I will be interviewing Lucy Eldritch, author of The Young Vampire’s Survival Guide..

NefretitiM: What inspired you to write this book?

Lucy Eldritch: Living in Manchester (the UK one!), I’ve always loved the weird juxtaposition of Gothic architecture and modern redevelopment, so – to my warped way of thinking – a vampire novel that combined those elements seemed the obvious thing to write.

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Lucy Eldritch: Basically, I stole the idea from ‘The Young Poisoner’s Handbook’ and adapted it. I think book titles are the first thing that should make you want to read a book.

NefretitiM: What genre does this book to fit into?

Lucy Eldritch: Well, it’s a vampire book, so paranormal. But there’s some horror in there, some urban fantasy, a bit of romance. I guess it’s an urban fantasy vampire novel, but I’ll let other people decide genres.

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Lucy Eldritch: You mean there was a time before writing? I’ve always written ever since, well, I could write. Telling imaginative stories is a pleasure that requires no money to do. It’s a joyous thing to do.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Lucy Eldritch: Sit down. Pour wine. Write. Get excited. Pace around the room. Sit down again. Write some more.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Lucy Eldritch: I live in the South of Manchester, so there are loads of great restaurants and things to go and see. I just like to take it all in. Oh, and spend time with my family. That’s fun, too!

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Lucy Eldritch: Sit down and write your words. That’s it. I’m not really in the position to give advice to other authors. If I sell a million books, I’ll come back to you with my pearls of wisdom. They’ll probably still be ‘sit down and write your words’, though.

Thank You for joining us tonight Lucy Eldritch.

Check out The Young Vampire’s Survival Guide  at Eldritch’s website; http://www.vampirebookseries.com and get your copy @

http://www.amazon.com/Young-Vampires-Survival-Guide-Breed-ebook/dp/B01DL2DP96/  or  https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1098001903

Leave a Reply

