NOT BLACK AND WHITE By: G.A. Beller

Tonight on literary links I have the pleasure of interviewing the intriguing G.A Beller..

NefretitiM: What inspired you to write NOT BLACK AND WHITE?

G. A. BELLER:

I was introduced to someone familiar with one of the characters in NOT BLACK AND WHITE. I was intrigued by the general concept of the story – the rise of the first African-American President and the downfall of two governors.

Living in Chicago during the unfolding of these events, I had followed all the news coverage as these activities were exposed. I decided to research the many articles that had been written. I was unwilling to accept the information as accurate or factual. The more I uncovered, the more I concluded that I should write this book as a novel. I wanted to create excitement and entertainment, which required a great deal of speculation.

As it relates to your question regarding the process compared to my expectations, I must admit, as an aspiring writer, I grossly underestimated the commitment to the process. I thought many times I was finished telling the story, only to decide a broader storyline was needed and that a more entertaining approach to various scenarios would enhance the reader’s experience. However, after many rewrites, I feel satisfied that I told this story well.

NefretitiM : How did you come up with the title?

G. A. BELLER:

NOT BLACK AND WHITE is meant to symbolically relate to the storyline – as it unfolds, the reader discovers the events and their outcomes are neither black nor white, but in the gray area, leaving a number of questions unanswered. The title is not complete without the byline: From The Very Windy City to 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue. I wanted to attract the reader to the story of a president who begins his political career in Chicago and navigates his way to the White House. Certainly, NOT BLACK AND WHITE also relates to the issue of race in politics. Whenever I was afforded the opportunity to describe a color in the story, I would choose black or white when practical.

NefretitiM: What genre does NOT BLACK AND WHITE fit into?

G. A. BELLER: This book is a fictional political thriller.

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

G. A. BELLER:

I’ve always loved telling stories to my friends and family. When I would see a movie or TV show and I was able to identify the ending early within the story, I would imagine how I

would have changed the storyline to challenge the viewer. As my primary career was becoming less satisfying, I decided to apply my creative ambitions to storytelling. As I consider myself a political junkie, this particular story attracted my interest. Now that I have the time to devote to writing, it has become my priority, and I am motivated to become a relevant writer as my primary career.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

G. A. BELLER:

I consider myself a binge writer. I spend most of my time thinking about my subjects and how I might want to convey a specific storyline. Once I become inspired to tell that part of the story, I will write non-stop, emptying my thoughts onto pages. I typically will not proofread or edit anything for days, and then I revisit my writing, challenging myself to improve on my ideas. Fortunately, I have a very talented collaborator who edits my thoughts. She makes the process very satisfying and validates my work. I then might not write again for weeks or more, other than notes to myself. When motivated, the next binge cycle begins.

NefretitiM : What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

G. A. BELLER:

I am a serial reader. I spend hours each day reading current events. I subscribe to daily newspapers, numerous newsletters and magazines and watch the newswires every day. The Internet provides me unlimited access to satisfy my curiosity on every subject which peaks my interest. I continue to manage my investments and am currently exploring other writing projects. I also intend to provide a grant program for aspiring writers beginning later this year. Additionally, I am a sports enthusiast of most major college and professional athletic programs.

NefretitiM: What tips or encouragement do you have for other writers?

G. A. BELLER:

My inspiration comes from the people and events I read about and watch each day. When I become captivated by a subject, I totally commit myself to researching that subject and evaluating how I might develop my own story and characters. In my opinion, you should first define your ending, and outline the basic story. By this time your creative juices should garner your excitement to write. Once you begin to formulate your words on a page, immerse yourself when you feel the motivation. It should be a positive experience, not work, but a desire to tell your story. However, I do believe from time to time you must step back and allow yourself time off to re-energize.

Wow it has been a delight to have you here on Literary Links. I can’t wait to start reading NOT BLACK AND WHITE! Get your copy today @ http://amzn.com/0996679901

Vivian_Craig_and_G_A_Beller__DSC_0670 (2).jpg

Meet G. A. Beller
Author of NOT BLACK AND WHITE: From the Very Windy City to 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue

G. A. BELLER has completed his first novel NOT BLACK AND WHITE, which was released in November 2015. G. Anton Publishing in Chicago published the novel, which has received numerous five star reviews on Amazon.

The story is a fictional account of many of the events that led to the meteoric rise of a local charismatic street politician to become America’s first African-American President, It also details the downfall and imprisonment of two consecutive governors of the State of Illinois, along with several of their most trusted advisors and cohorts.

G. A. Beller, a self-proclaimed political junkie, has been an executive in the investment business for over thirty-five years. His mentor, and one of his closest friends, upon one of their first meetings, saw his initials on his leather briefcase and nicknamed him GABE. The name has stuck since his early twenties.

For many years Beller desired to find the time to write his own stories and to inspire others to write as well. In 2013, he established GABE Advisors, LLC to invest in and encourage literary projects in creative collaboration with other aspiring authors.

He is currently co-authoring a second novel based upon the true story of a loving couple living in Southern California who see a television commercial soliciting sponsorship of needy children. The couple sponsors a young girl from India, and their decision leads to an unlikely story of love and a life-changing journey for all involved. The target publication date for this second novel is late 2016. This will be the first book to be published in the series known as DEFINING KARMA™

Mr. Beller has identified a third and fourth project. His goal is to write and publish a book every twelve to eighteen months.

Leave a Reply

