Broken For You

Tonight on Literary Links  I will be interviewing Karen Armstrong; author of Broken For You.

Thank You Ms. Armstrong for joining us tonight.

NefretitiM: What inspired you to write Broken For You?

Karen Armstrong: I had gotten to a place in my life where I was hitting a brick wall.  When I began to question this wall I realized that I could not push through it until I turned around and faced my past.  By facing my past it was evident that I needed therapy.  Writing became my therapy and before I knew it Broken For You was born.

NefretitiM: How did you come up with the title?

Karen Armstrong: One day I was in a furniture store and I saw a table that they were selling, it was a glass table that was shattered with a clear piece on top of it. Immediately when I saw it I thought someone broke and shattered a table to sell to “YOU”. So many times in life we go through things and wonder what was it all for but then you meet someone who is currently going through something and you find yourself giving that person encouragement or advice it is at that moment you gain clarity that says I was broke and shattered for a time such as this to meet YOU.

NefretitiM: What genre do consider this book to fit into?
Karen Armstrong: It is definitely a non-fiction piece, a memoir.

NefretitiM: What influenced your interest in writing?

Karen Armstrong: Books are fascinating to me they open up a world without you ever leaving where you are. I believe that books are precious and powerful and I always wanted a way to help people, change their world without compromising my own. The people I share my life with my kids, family, friends and even those who don’t particularly care for me influence me because they all have a story that they don’t know how to tell, they don’t want to tell or too afraid to tell so I become their voice.

NefretitiM: What is the writing process like for you?

Karen Armstrong: My writing process is constant. I am always writing something whenever a thought comes to me or someone says something that interest me I immediately write it down and from that point on I continue writing until I feel the need to no longer write. One day I can write an entire chapter and on others I can only get one sentence out. I try not to force what is not there.

NefretitiM: What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Karen Armstrong: Read, Volunteer for worthy causes, Church, Spending quality time with my family, Wine Tasting

NefretitiM: What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

Karen Armstrong: Be honest with yourself and the real reason why you are writing when you do that you will learn to stay in your lane. Be open and willing to listen to criticism and advice but maintain your lane. When we begin to cross over into others lane we begin to loose focus of the reason why we are here in the first place. Nobody can tell your story like you and you can’t tell another story so why try.

NefretitiM: I love it! Thank you for the interview Ms. Karen.  I’ve already purchased my copy and I can’t wait to read it.  Purchase yours today @  http://www.amazon.ca/dp/B018BK1GAS ,  and don’t forget to leave your comments.

 

One thought on “Broken For You”

Leave a Reply

